What is Meaning of Hamsa Hand?

Jeulia Hamsa Hand Ring Sterling Silver
Jeulia Hamsa Hand Ring Sterling Silver

Hamsa hand, also known as “Fatima’s hand” or “Lucky hand”, is called “The Hamasa Hand” in Arabic and “Hamesh Hand” in Hebrew.
In Arab culture, the meaning of this pattern is “Hand of Fatima”. Fatima is the daughter of the Prophet Muhammad, who is the legendary moon goddess in Arab mythology. It is said that her hands can heal all diseases of believers. So Hand of Fatima is a symbol of blessings for peace and health in Arab culture. Arabs like to make gold and silver jewelry in this shape to wear as their talisman.

Now the hamsa hand is widely used in the jewelry design, such as Hamsa ring, hamsa hand earrings, necklace and so on.

The color of hamsa hand

Jeulia "Hamsa and Evil Eye" Asymmetric Sterling Silver Stud Earrings
Jeulia “Hamsa and Evil Eye” Asymmetric Sterling Silver Stud Earrings

Green hamsa hand: green is for growth, hope and happiness;

Blue hamsa hand: green stands for silence, contentment and safety;

Red hamsa hand: red is for passion and pursuit

Orange hamsa hand: Energy and vitality;

Yellow hamsa hand: yellow is the color of sun, stands for rationality and Intelligence;

Pink hamsa hand: Altruism, kindness, gentleness, and patience;

Purple hamsa hand: the energy of purple is similar with pink, stands for love and intelligence;

Different religious cultures have their own interpretations of symbols

In Judaism, they call it the hand of Merion in memory of Moses’ sister;
In Levant Christianity, it is called the hand of the Virgin Mary, named after the mother of Jesus;
In Islam, it is called the Hand of Fatima, named after the daughter of Muhammad;
In Sunni culture, the Five Finger Hand is related to the Five Merits of Islam;
For the Shia, it symbolizes the prophet and Ali, as well as Fatima and her two sons.
She is the guardian goddess of Carthage, Tanit, symbolizing fertility;
In Hebrew, the number five is “hamesh”, and the fifth letter of the Hebrew alphabet is “Hey”, which is one of the holy names of God. Hamesh is the representative of the five books of the Pentateuch. In Arabic, it is “khamesh”;

For Hindus and Buddhists, it symbolizes the interaction of chakras, energy flow within the body, and the five senses. Since the word Hamsa means “five”, it represents the finger of the right hand. According to Hindus and Buddhists, each finger is connected to an element and chakra:
1. Thumb: Fire element, solar plexus chakra.
2. Index finger: air element, heart chakra;
3. Middle finger: ethereal element, throat chakra;
4. Ring finger: Earth element, root chakra.
5. Little finger: Water element, sacral chakra.

The uniqueness and diversity of world cultures have led to cultural differences, but what remains unchanged is people’s expectations for beauty and life, as well as their courage to face the future. The stories of fashion have been increasing, but classics will always be passed down.

More Jeulia Post:

Contrasting Color Desing Jewelry

Edward VII Era: The Era of Abandoning Machines

Pearl Jewelry Fashion Trend for Youth